Systems compared
Clearing agent licensing rules compared
Short answer
- Regional law
- EAC Customs Management Act, 2004, Part XI, sections 145 to 148 1
- Regulations cited
- EAC Customs Management Regulations, 2010, regulations 149 to 152 3
- Kenya 2027 deadline
- Renewals on or before 31 October 2026, through iCMS 3
- Tanzania licence fee
- US$400 plus a US$50 application fee 6
- Fees on the EAC page
- US$10 application fee and US$400 annual licence fee, undated page read 24 October 2026 2
- Licence period
- Calendar year to 31 December per EAC, KRA and URA. Twelve months from issue per TRA 2,3 5,6
- Unlicensed agents
- An offence under regulation 152, per URA 5
The shared EAC rules
Part XI of the EAC Customs Management Act covers customs agents. Section 145 deals with licensing of agents, section 146 with their authority, section 147 with the liability of a duly authorised agent, and section 148 with the owner's liability for the agent's acts 1.
The EAC customs agent page says applicants must be registered, know customs clearance and have an office with equipment such as computers. Applications are made on Form C24 2. It says a licence is not issued or renewed where the applicant has a criminal record or has been involved in dishonest activities 2. It gives a US$10 application fee and a US$400 annual licence fee, and says licences run for a calendar year to 31 December 2. Renewal needs the Commissioner's approval 2.
The same page says the owner of the goods must authorise the agent in writing, and the owner and the agent can both be prosecuted for unlawful acts the agent commits for the owner. It says using an agent is compulsory in some Partner States 2.
Country rules side by side
The table lines up what each revenue authority states on its own pages. KRA's notice of 23 September 2025 and the TRA page read on 24 October 2026 give a US$50 application fee. The undated EAC page, read the same day, gives US$10 2,4 6. On validity, the EAC, KRA and URA pages give 31 December, and TRA gives twelve months from issue 2,3 5,6.
| Item | Kenya (KRA) | Uganda (URA) | Tanzania (TRA) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Law cited 3,5 6 | Section 145 EACCMA and regulations 149 to 152 EACCMR 2010 3 | Section 145(1) EACCMA and regulation 152 EACCMR 5 | EACCMA, written as 2023 on the TRA page, and EACCMR 2010 6 |
| Validity 3,5 6 | Expires 31 December. Three-year AEO licences excluded 3 | One year, expires 31 December 5 | Twelve months from issue 6 |
| Application fee 4,6 | USD 50 for new applicants 4 | Not stated on the page read 5 | US$50, non-refundable 6 |
| Licence fee 6 | Not stated on the notices read 3,4 | Not stated on the page read 5 | US$400 after passing the interview 6 |
| Bond 3,6 | Certificate of Bond and Debt clearance required for renewal 3 | Not stated on the page read 5 | TZS 100,000,000 for new agents 6 |
| Portal 3,6 | iCMS, icms.kra.go.ke 3 | Not stated on the page read 5 | TANCIS 6 |
| Industry clearance 3 | KIFWA clearance certificate for the year 3 | Not stated on the page read 5 | Not stated on the page read 6 |
Kenya
KRA's notice of 21 September 2026 says customs agent licences expire on 31 December 2026 and invites renewals on or before 31 October 2026 through the Integrated Customs Management System 3. Renewing agents send Form C20, a 2026 certificate of registration, a tax compliance certificate, a Certificate of Bond and Debt clearance, the previous C21 licence and a KIFWA clearance certificate 3.
KRA's notice for 2026 licences, listed on 23 September 2025, asked new applicants to apply by email with 16 documents, including police clearance for all directors and three years of audited accounts where applicable. It set a USD 50 application fee 4.
Uganda
URA says a licence is a legal requirement under section 145(1) and that operating as a customs agent without one is a punishable offence under regulation 152 5. It says declaring or clearing goods or baggage needs a clearing agent, with an exception for accompanied, non-manifested personal baggage of travellers arriving by air or land 5. URA says agents are personally liable for their acts and for taxes due from goods owners 5.
Tanzania
TRA shortlists applicants through TANCIS and a public notice for a written interview. The interviewee must be a director or permanent staff member holding the East African Customs Clearing and Freight Forwarding Practicing Certificate 6. A company that passes pays US$400 and new applicants execute a customs bond of Tshs 100,000,000 6. TRA's page cites a 2023 Act for the validity rule. The EAC text carries the short title East African Community Customs Management Act, 2004 1,6.
Countries not covered yet
This page does not yet compare Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, eastern DRC or Somalia. Their licensing pages were not opened for this guide. The EAC page says agent use is compulsory in some Partner States 2.
Common questions
Can one clearing agent licence be used in every EAC country?
No source opened for this page says so. Each Commissioner licenses agents under section 145 1, and Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania each run their own licensing 3,5 6.
When do customs agent licences expire in Kenya?
On 31 December each year. For 2027 licences KRA asked for renewals by 31 October 2026 3.
How much is a clearing and forwarding licence in Tanzania?
TRA charges a US$50 application fee and a US$400 licence fee. New agents execute a customs bond of Tshs 100,000,000 6.
Do I need a clearing agent to import goods into Uganda?
URA says declaring or clearing goods or baggage requires a clearing agent, with an exception for accompanied, non-manifested personal baggage of travellers 5.
Rules and charges change. Check the official source linked on this page before you pay or travel. Spotted an error? Email hello@eastafricatradesystems.com.
Sources
- Government Printer Nairobi: The East African Community Customs Management Act, 2004, Revised Edition 2009 (amendments to 8 December 2008)
- East African Community: Customs Agent (accessed 24 October 2026)
- Kenya Revenue Authority: Application for Renewal of Customs Agents Licences 2027 (21 September 2026)
- Kenya Revenue Authority: Applications for Renewal of Customs Agents Licences 2026 (listed 23 September 2025)
- Uganda Revenue Authority: Why is it necessary to obtain a customs agents' license? Justification? Why renewal? (undated)
- Tanzania Revenue Authority: Customs Licenses (accessed 24 October 2026)
Related
- EAC Customs Management Act, 2004
The customs law shared by East African Community states: its parts, who runs it, the 2019 and 2025 amendments and the sections traders use most.
- Customs management systems compared across East Africa
iCMS in Kenya, TANCIS in Tanzania, ASYCUDA World in Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi, SYDONIA in the DRC. Who runs each system and its status with dates.
- Transit bonds and the RCTG regional guarantee
How customs transit bonds work in East Africa, the COMESA RCTG Carnet that replaces national bonds, which states take part and what the EAC law says.
- Electronic single windows compared: Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania
Kenya TradeNet, the Uganda Electronic Single Window, the Rwanda Electronic Single Window and Tanzania's TeSWS. Launch dates, operators and agencies.
- Tanzania customs and trade systems
Tanzania's TANCIS customs system, the TeSWS single window, the GePG payment gateway, cargo tracking, agent licences, border posts and audit findings.